Updated Visitor Policy

Forrest General Hospital Names 145 Spirit Girls for Upcoming Year - Forrest Health
    Share This
    Skip to main content

    Published on June 28, 2021

    Forrest General Hospital Names 145 Spirit Girls for Upcoming Year


    HATTIESBURG, Miss. (June 28, 2021) The 2021-2022 Spirit Girls, a program sponsored by Forrest General’s Spirit of Women, welcomes 145 young ladies to the opportunities and fun offered by this program.

    Spirit Girls is designed to reach young women through events targeted at promoting self-esteem and encouraging healthy lifestyles. 

    Spirit Girls participate in a wide range of activities and community service projects for organizations such as The Association for the Rights of Citizens with Disabilities (The ARC), DREAM of Hattiesburg, Hattiesburg Zoo, and The Children’s Center for Communication and Development. Spirit Girls also participate in Spirit of Women events.

    The young ladies selected are in grades 7 through 12 and reside in Forrest General's 19-county service area which includes the following counties: Covington, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Wayne and Walthall.

     The program offers an opportunity for young ladies to learn the importance of taking action for their health and giving back to the community. The hours of community service contributed through various events provide a chance to make lasting contributions to their community as well as lasting friendships.

    “The goal of our Spirit of Women program is to empower women with information so they can make healthy choices for themselves and their families,” said Millie Swan, Forrest Health vice president. “We feel it is important for young ladies to develop healthy habits and start making good decisions early in their lives. The Spirit Girls program gives young ladies the opportunity to give back to the community, participate in fun events and at the same time, along with their mothers, focus on education and important issues, which we hope helps them to mature into healthy and informed young women.”

    During the school year, the Spirit Girls also host and assist with events to help them develop a broader perspective and lifelong social skills while contributing to the community.

     Spirit of Women is a national network of American hospitals and healthcare providers that ascribe to the highest standards of excellence in women’s health, education, and community outreach.

    With more than 8,800 members, Forrest General is the exclusive Spirit of Women hospital for Mississippi, having attained Premier status in recognition of strong efforts in moving women to take action for their health!

    For more information about Spirit Girls or to inquire about Spirit Girl volunteer requests, contact Kathy Walker at Kathy.Walker@forrestgeneral.com or (601) 288-1309, or visit http://www.forresthealth.org/about/spirit-of-women/.


    2021-2022 Spirit Girls include:


    Columbia High School

    Myers Foxworth

    Sheridan Shoemo

    Cooper Smith


    East Marion High School

    Janasia Aaron


    Forrest County Agriculture High School

    Jaylen Johnson


    Gateway Christian Academy

    Mariah Galloway


    Homeschool Acellus Academy

    Avery Borbash


    Hattiesburg High School

    Mahaleigh Bradley

    Laila Esters

    Alexandria Gandy

    Kara Mai Sellers

    Mackenzie Somersall

    Raynah Travis

    N.R. Burger Middle School -- Hattiesburg

    Amaria Bowie

    Wynter Fairley



    Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science

    Madison Echols


    Northeast Jones High School

    Caedence Hodge


    North Forrest High School

    Khamya Bufird


    North Forrest Elementary School

    Alia Parham


    Lamar Christian School

    Reese Prestridge


    Oak Grove High School

    Connor Batson

    Blakely Byrd

    Claire Christensen

    KaLyric Coleman

    Kailynn Cunningham

    Abigail Dorgan

    Chloe LeBlanc

    Madaleyne Leggett

    Olivia Leggett

    Shreya Madhav

    Tamanda McDonald

    Jordyne Morris

    Alaynna Patterson

    Alexia Robinson

    Kathryn Scharwath

    Madison Thomas

    Dede Varnado

    Katherine Weir

    Campbell Wood


    Oak Grove Middle School

    Peyton Leggett

    Alana Taylor

    Hayleigh Taylor

    Kenzley Tyler


    Our Lady Academy

    Mikala Coble


    Petal High School

    Courtney Brewer

    Sandra Bullock

    Hannah Buse

    Ariel Cox

    Gabrielle Garner

    Caroline Gunn

    Abbye Jo Holcomb

    Lily James

    Abby Lawson

    Grace Lofton

    Colette Lymon

    Hannah Pipkins

    Helen Pope

    Paige Rehm

    Presley Rehm

    Presley Rounsavville

    Ella Seymour

    Lillian Simmons

    Lauren Smith

    Mallory Smith

    Meagan Walker


    Petal Middle School

    Hollyn Tracey

    Lyndsey Wade


    Poplarville Middle School

    Kiley Cuevas


    Presbyterian Christian School

    Lana-Blue Adams

    Milly Blair

    Madeline Carter

    Stella Claire Dews

    Sterling Dews

    Ella Feagans

    Sara Mills Gallaspy

    Addie Dayne Gregg

    Hallie Jussely

    Caroline Kosko

    Meredith Maksi
    Alissa Menefee

    Lylah Menefee

    Mayme Mikovich

    Annaleigh Miller
    Lillian Claire Montgomery
    Ava Pattie

    Bella Pattie

    Emma Pattie

    Simmons Penn
    Ava Pennebaker
    Molly Phillips

    Zoey Swan

    Natalie Thieling

    Cate Whittington


    Purvis High School

    Raegan Anderson

    Avery Foret

    Abby Fulmar

    Shelbi Harris

    Lili Rogers

    Kelby Wingo


    Sacred Heart Catholic School

    Lily Allen

    Samantha Alliston

    Caroline Batson

    Brennan “Klaire” Bennett

    Landrie Blackburn
    Andie Brewer

    Anna Weston Burks

    Karrington Commodore

    Clare Conliff

    Julia Farris

    Ariana Freeman

    Sarah Galardo

    Olivia Gerald

    Olivia Graversen

    Alexandria Green

    Hallie Ingram

    Leighton Jones
    Genevieve Kuehn

    Bella Mauritz

    Caroline Morris

    Julia Odom

    Kamisiyonna Offiah

    Somtochi Offiah

    Jordan O’Keefe

    Anita Okorie

    Stephanie Okorie

    Lily Ramey

    Abby Thompson


    Seminary Middle School

    Carly Gibson


    Seminary High School

    Natalee Parker


    South Jones High School

    Emma McHard


    Stone County High School

    Lauren McKay


    Stringer Attendance Center

    Syrianna Jones


    Sumrall High School

    Anna Grace Anderson

    Madelyn Bell

    Chloe Garner

    Sarah Jespersen

    Natalie Peterson

    Ashtyn Walker

    Katelyn Walker


    Sumrall Middle School

    Karsen Burton

    Laila Kitchens

    Caroline Whittington


    Wayne County High School

    Nakiyah McInnis


    West Jones High School

    Lindsey Cole


    West Jones Middle School

    Aleyah Walker

    Share your experience and write a review!




    Employment Policy: It is the policy of Forrest Health to recruit and select candidates for employment without regard to race, color, sex (including sexual orientation and gender identity),
    religion, national origin, age, disability or other status protected by applicable federal or state statutes.

    A Board of Trustees appointed by the Forrest County Board of Supervisors is charged with the oversight of Forrest Health. The system is completely self supporting and does not operate on local taxes.
    Forrest Health facilities are approved by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for participation in Medicare and Medicaid Programs.