Updated Visitor Policy

Forrest General Presents the 2016 Philip Rogers Award Winners - Forrest Health
    Share This
    Skip to main content

    Published on December 09, 2016

    Forrest General Presents the 2016 Philip Rogers Award Winners

    HATTIESBURG, Miss. – (December 9, 2016) Forrest General Hospital proudly announced the winners of the eleventh-annual Philip W. Rogers Award during the hospital’s annual Employee Christmas Celebration! This annual award is presented to healthcare workers who exemplify commitment to the field of medicine and excellence in patient care. This year, the award was presented to four individuals based on nominations received from their peers. Each winner represents one of Rogers’ most admirable characteristics – Humanitarian, Innovator, Leader and Mentor.

    Joseph Jody J. Patterson, MD, South Mississippi Emergency Physicians, PA, was honored with the Philip Rogers Humanitarian Award. Dr. Patterson specializes in emergency medicine and currently serves as an emergency room physician at Forrest General. He is certified by the American Board of Family Practice and also holds certifications in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS), and Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS). He completed certification as an instructor of ACLS and PALS and served as regional faculty of ACLS for one year from July 1999 until July 2000. Dr. Patterson and his wife, Cynthia, have three children, Sarah, Jeremy, and Joseph. An avid outdoorsman, Dr. Patterson enjoys hunting, fishing, farming and raising horses in his time outside of the emergency room. According to his colleagues, “Dr. Patterson gives exceptional care to patients in all areas of the Emergency Department. He treats both patients and staff with the courtesy and respect that creates and nurtures our environment of healing and wellness. It’s a privilege and a pleasure to work with him.”

    The Innovator Award was presented to Sanjay Derhgawen, MD, nephrologist at Hattiesburg Clinic, PA. Dr. Derhgawen is certified in nephrology by the American Board of Internal Medicine and the National Board of Medical Examiners. He has professional affiliations with the American Society of Nephrologists, American College of Physicians, American Medical Association and Mississippi State Medical Association. He is a well-respected researcher and writer whose work has been widely published and presented at numerous conferences. Dr. Derhgawen organized a dialysis manager, which allows nurses and other healthcare professionals to care for patients from any unit in the dialysis center. This system provides even better access to care for patients, particularly those who are elderly or require assistance after hours.

    The award for Leadership was given to Anita Henderson, MD, a pediatrician at The Pediatric Clinic, Hattiesburg Clinic, PA. Dr. Henderson is certified by and a member of the American Board of Pediatrics. She is also a member of the American Medical Association, Mississippi State Medical Society, and the South Mississippi Medical Society. Dr. Henderson served as physician champion leading Forrest General’s Women and Children’s Services as the staff worked toward the Baby-Friendly designation. According to her colleagues, Dr. Henderson’s leadership was an instrumental component to Forrest General becoming the first and only baby-friendly hospital in the state. “Becoming baby-friendly was a major undertaking. Our success was greatly due to Dr. Anita Henderson as our physician champion. She was happy to meet with our team on her days off and would present baby-friendly to anyone, any time she was asked. Her passion for our patients is obvious,” said leaders at Forrest General. Dr. Henderson is married to Randy Henderson, MD, and has two children, Rand and Sarah.

    The Philip Rogers Mentor Award went to Virginia Jones, RN, BSN. Jones began her career at a young age at Forrest General Hospital as a nurse’s aide on July 17, 1978 and quickly worked her way up to unit secretary. She worked and pursued a nursing degree receiving her LPN in 1980 from Pearl River Community College and RN in 1989 from Pearl River. After beginning her career as an RN, she transferred to Pine Grove Behavioral Health and Addiction Services as the Patient Care Coordinator, soon moved to Patient Care Manager, and then to Director of Patient Care Services, the position she currently holds. In 2005, she received her BSN from Mississippi University for Women. Jones has learned valuable lessons from all levels of her career -- how important loyalty is to her job, patients, and those she worked alongside with. She has never lost her compassion or humanity for others and always finds something good in everyone and everything in life.

    Pictured: Virginia Jones, director of Patient Care Services at Pine Grove Behavioral Health and Addiction Services, Mentor Award; Sanjay Derhgawen, MD, Hattiesburg Clinic, PA, Innovator Award; Anita Henderson, MD, The Pediatric Clinic, Hattiesburg Clinic, PA, Leadership Award; Not Pictured: Joseph Jody J. Patterson, MD, South Mississippi Emergency Physicians, PA, Humanitarian Award




    Employment Policy: It is the policy of Forrest Health to recruit and select candidates for employment without regard to race, color, sex (including sexual orientation and gender identity),
    religion, national origin, age, disability or other status protected by applicable federal or state statutes.

    A Board of Trustees appointed by the Forrest County Board of Supervisors is charged with the oversight of Forrest Health. The system is completely self supporting and does not operate on local taxes.
    Forrest Health facilities are approved by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for participation in Medicare and Medicaid Programs.